News 2


Lemma achieved the 10th best time in Boston Marathon history, and won the major for the second time in his career after the first at the 2021 London Marathon with 2 hours, 4 minutes and 1 second.

Before Lemma, the last four Boston Marathon champions were all from Kenya.

Sisay Lemma finished first in the Boston Marathon on April 15, 2024.

Benson Kipruto won the championship in 2021 with 2 hours 9 minutes 51 seconds, Lawrence Cherono won the championship in 2019 with 2 hours 7 minutes 57 seconds, while the tournament was canceled in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

At the 2024 Boston Marathon, after starting at Hopkinton, Lemma soon burst out with a pace of 2:53 (2 minutes 53 seconds per km) through the first half of the stage.

Lemma gradually left defending champion Evans Chebet behind from the 7 km mark, and led the chasing group by 3 minutes 30 seconds when reaching the 30 km mark.

`I decided to push myself right after the start,` Lemma said after crossing the finish line, lying down on the sidewalk and laughing loudly.

Before the tournament, Lemma was considered a strong candidate to win Valencia 2023 with the fourth fastest time in marathon history (2 hours 1 minute 48 seconds).


Sisay Lemma finished first in the 2024 Boston Marathon

Sisay Lemma finished first in the 2024 Boston Marathon.

In the women’s event, Hellen Obiri successfully defended her title, finishing first with 2 hours, 22 minutes and 37 seconds.

Obiri, 34 years old from Kenya, won the first two marathons of his career in 2023. Runner Kenya finished first in Boston with 2 hours 21 minutes 38 seconds, then New York City with 2 hours 27 minutes 23 seconds.

Sharon Lokedi – 2022 New York City Marathon champion – crossed the finish line second with 2 hours 22 minutes 45 seconds, and Edna Kiplagat – Boston champion in 2017 and 2021 – crossed the finish line third with 2 hours 23 minutes 21 seconds.

The Boston Marathon, established in 1897, is the world’s oldest running race, and belongs to the World Marathon Majors (WMM) system, in addition to five races in New York, Chicago, London, Berlin and Tokyo.

Post Comment